This Mysterious Computer Could Prove Time Travel Exists | Nostalgia Nerd

Sama_El
Published on Oct 16, 2022
Go to https://curiositystream.thld.co/NERD and use code NERD to save 25% off today, that’s only $14.99 a year. Thanks to Curiosity Stream for sponsoring today’s video. ~ In 1984 something strange happened in the village of Dodleston. A BBC Micro was sitting on a counter, when it suddenly started receiving mysterious messages, which appeared to come from the 16th century. This might have gone unnoticed had local teachers, Ken Webster and Peter Trinder, not investigated to find that information was so accurate, it would be almost impossible to fake. This whole event was documented in the book "The Vertical Plane", published in 1989. But here, tonight, we investigate deep to find out exactly what this is all about.

Thank you to these excellent peeps. Please check out their channels;
Ashens: https://www.youtube.com/theproxy
TristaBytes: https://www.youtube.com/c/TristaBytes
WhatHoSnorkers: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmKA-MiHwHpuawrhPBsWzJg
Octavius King: https://www.youtube.com/c/0ctav1usKitten
Slope's Game Room: https://www.youtube.com/c/djslopesroom
Ponder: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeOCi7IAMOp1WpJhKUqc_cQ

0:00-01:10 Introduction
01:10-02:05 Curiosity Stream
02:05-29:15 The Dodleston Messages
29:15-35:52 Post Events
35:52-40:35 Dissection
40:35-41:53 Further Reading
41:53-43:01 Credits

🔗Video Links🔗
Blogs:
Mercurius Politicus: http://mercuriuspoliticus.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/ghost-in-the-machine/
Contacting 2109: http://contacting2109.com/vertical-plane-ghost-machine/
Macy Afterlife: http://macyafterlife.com/2018/02/10/time-hopping-the-amazing-story-of-ken-webster/
Time Slips: http://time-slips.blogspot.com/2011/08/wot-strange-wordes-thou-speke.html
Skeptophilia: http://skeptophilia.com/2014/08/the-haunted-pc.html
Tom Ruffles: http://tomruffles.wordpress.com/2020/08/14/the-vertical-plane-by-ken-webster/
Ley Lines: http://landandspirit.net/earth-energies/leylines/

Podcasts:
Unexplained Podcast: http://unexplainedpodcast.com/episodes/2018/7/25/s03-episode-8-repeat-input-until-end
Mysterious Universe: http://podcastaddict.com/episode/29862737
Dark Histories: http://darkhistories.com/the-dodleston-messages-ghost-in-the-machine/

Books:
The Mary Celeste Syndrome, John Pinkney: https://amzn.to/3kJVc29
The Vertical Plane, Ken Webster: https://amzn.to/3oyTlhK / https://ebay.us/v29hx3
Phantom Messages, William J. Hall: https://amzn.to/3cr41ch

Resources:
Society for Psychical Research: http://spr.ac.uk
Reddit Community: http://reddit.com/r/TheVerticalPlane/
Stardot Forum: http://stardot.org.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1393
Stardot Forum: http://stardot.org.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?t=15271
Unexplained Mysteries Forum: http://unexplained-mysteries.com/forum/topic/9878-the-vertical-plane/
Brasenose College Fellows: http://bnc.ox.ac.uk/downloads/List_of_Fellows_1509-1909.pdf
British History Online: http://british-history.ac.uk/vch/oxon/vol3/pp207-219
Prof Laura Wright: http://english.cam.ac.uk/people/Laura.Wright/

Out of This World:
Ep1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ipz43IHiK-0
Ep2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WXSjRvOYr4

🏆 Support 🏆
Support my channel, get exclusive videos & perks, as well as an ad and sponsor free experience at https://www.patreon.com/nostalgianerd from just $1

🏪 NN Shop & Affiliate Links! 🏪
My eBay Shop: https://nnerd.es/NerdShop (Now Re-open!)
My Retro Tech book: http://nnerd.me/HVFtSB (2nd edition is out!)
Desk Shelves for Retro Computers: http://nnerd.me/RetroShelves (Because you're worth it)

🍻 Share/Like 🍻
If you wish to share this video in forums, social media, on your website, or ANYWHERE else, please do so! It helps tremendously with the channel! Also, giving a thumb up or down also helps with visibility on Youtube. Many thanks!

📟 Subcribe 📟
Click to Subscribe: https://nnerd.es/2K4TYvX

📱 Join me on Social Media 📱
🐥 http://www.twitter.com/nostalnerd
🎮 http://www.twitch.tv/nostalgianerd
👱🏼📘 http://www.facebook.com/nostalnerd
📸 http://www.instagram.com/nostalgianerd
🌍 http://www.nostalgianerd.com

🎥 Equipment 🎥
Panasonic Lumix G5
Rode NT-1 Mic
Corel Video Studio Ultimate 2020
Corel Paint Shop Pro 2020

📜 Resources 📜
In video links and references are provided where possible. If you believe I have forgotten to attribute anything, please let me know (drop me an email via. the about page on Youtube or send me a tweet), so I can add it here. Apologies if I have missed anything out, it takes time to make these videos and therefore it can be easy to forget things or make a mistake.

Errors and omissions excepted.

Some material in this video may be used under Fair Dealing / Fair Use. Where under section 107 of the Copyright Act of 1976 (UK: Sections 29 and 30 of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988), allowance is made for purposes including parody, quotation, criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, education and research. Fair Dealing / Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing.

Share Video

  • 560 x 315
  • 640 x 360
  • 853 x 480
  • 1280 x 720

Add to

Flag Video

Rate video

Rate video

Up next
Autoplay